National Program for Improving Rural Economy – Rural Infrastructure Development Committee Meeting

Under the National Plan for Building a Rural Economy, the meeting for the Jaffna-Kilinochchi districts was held at 10 am on 06 November 2020 at the Jaffna District Secretariat Auditorium.

As per the government’s policy declaration of ‘The Vision of Prosperity, four committees, including Cabinet Ministries and State Ministries, have been set up for the National Economic Building Program, which will cover all districts to build the rural economy. They are:

  1. Community Infrastructure Development Committee
  2. Livelihood Development Committee
  3. Development Committee to promote the domestic manufacturing sector
  4. The Rural Infrastructure Development Committee.

The issues related to building the rural economy were discussed in detail. This committee includes Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa, State Minister of Internal Security, Home Affairs and Disaster Management, Dullas Alahapperuma, Minister of Power, and Johnston Fernando, Minister of Highways, and some State Ministers and Chairmen of District Coordinating Committee.

The discussion of the committee was especially focused on the rural development of the Jaffna – Kilinochchi districts. At today’s meeting chaired by Jaffna District Government Agent K.Magesan, the District Secretaries elaborated on the data related to the infrastructure facilities to be carried out in Jaffna and Kilinochchi Districts. Further, they also discussed the financial allocations for water, electricity, and road reconstruction activities. It should be noted that the issues such as delays in advancing these activities during the Covid 19 epidemic situation have been also explored in detail.

Hon. Governor of Northern Province Mrs. PSM Charles, Minister of Fisheries cum Co-Chairman of Kilinochchi District Coordinating Committee Hon. Douglas Devananda, Parliamentarians Hon. Indika Anuruddha, Hon. Jeevan Thondaman, Hon. Johnson Fernando and Hon. Duminda Dissanayake, Co-Chairman of Jaffna District Coordinating Committee Hon. Angayan Ramanathan, Parliamentarian of Jaffna and Kilinochchi Districts Hon. Sivagnanam Sritharan, Hon. M.A.Sumanthiran, Hon. T.Siththarthan, Hon. Kajendrakumar Ponnampalam and Hon.Selvarasa Kajendran, Chief Secretary of Northern Province Mr.A.Pathinathan, Secretary to the Governor Mrs.S.Mohanathan, District Secretary of Kilinochchi, Additional Government Agents of Jaffna District, Divisional Secretaries, staff grade officers of District Secretariats, and other relevant officials also attended this meeting.