Department of cooperative development



Mr. P.Vageshan


Tel: 021 205 7063
Mobile: 0773868567
Fax: 021 205 7062


Co-operative movement promoted and empowered for socio, economic and cultural growth in Five Districts of the Northern Province.


Facilitate and promote Co-operative values by sharing socio, economic resources among the people to promote Co-operative services and contribute to the human development based economy.


  • Organization and Registration of Co-operative Societies.
  • Supervision of Co-operative societies and providing necessary advises and guidance to the societies in the provision of services essential for community life.
  • Auditing of co-operative societies.
  • Performance of statutory functions such as the settlement of disputes, the holding of inquiries, conducting investigations, inspections of co-operative societies and liquidations of cancelled societies.
  • Training and development of co-operative development officers, co-operative employees and cooperators via exhibition, training classes, short term courses and publicity meetings and efficiency bar examinations.
  • Work in close co-ordination with ministries and agencies engaged in development work and act as liaison between co-operative societies and such ministries / agencies.

Contact Details

Postal Address: Department of Cooperative Development, Elders Home Complex, Kandy Road, Kaithady

General Telephone: 021 205 7062

Fax No. : 021 205 7062 

DesignationName Telephone Number Address
CCD & RCSMr.P.VageshanDirect: 021 205 7063
Mobile: 0773868567
Dept. of Co-operative Development, NP
Elder’s Home Complex, Kandy Road, Kaithady.
AccountantMrs.M.SathiyarubanDirect: 021 223 2212Dept. of Co-operative Development, NP
Elder’s Home Complex, Kandy Road, Kaithady.
Administrative OfficerMrs.N.SountharrajanDirect: 021 205 7062Dept. of Co-operative Development, NP
Elder’s Home Complex, Kandy Road, Kaithady.
Asst. Commissioner, JaffnaMr.P.MohanDirect: 021 222 2186
Mobile: 0771530921
ACCD’s Office,  No.857, K.K.S. Road, Jaffna
Asst. Commissioner, KilinochchiMrs.K.NallathambyDirect: 021 228 3959
Mobile: 0774161056
ACCD’s Office,  Depot Junction, Kandy Road, Kilinochchi
Asst. Commissioner, MullaitivuMr.U.SubasingheDirect: 021 229 0011
Mobile: 0776293141
ACCD’s Office,  PWD Junction, Mullaitivu
Asst. Commissioner, VavuniyaMrs.I.SubasingheDirect: 024 222 2874
Mobile: 0776408886
ACCD’s Office,  Station View Road, Circular Road, Vavuniya
Asst. Commissioner, MannarMr.A.SebamalaiDirect: 023 222 2156
Mobile: 0774951929

ACCD’s Office, Semmanthevu, Murungan

Director (Actg)Mrs.I.SubasingheDirect: 024 222 3585
Mobile: 0776408886

Provincial Co-operative Training Institute,

29/02, Kovil road, Kurumankadu, Vavuniya